Books, Current Events, Lists, Words

Springing Into Reading With Beautiful Books and Wondrous Words

Every new season brings with it something wonderful to enjoy and revel in. While one of my favorite things about spring is all the blossoms everywhere, right now, I am looking forward to be springing into reading a whole bunch of wonderful books!!

One of my recent QOTD on Instagram was about your favorite season. Do feel free to let me know which season you look forward to and why in the comments if you want to. As for me, I think it is autumn, but of course, I enjoy spring as well.

This post contains Amazon and other affiliate links, that at no additional cost to you, I may earn a small commission. Thank you for your support. Please see the full disclosure for more information. I only recommend products I definitely would (or have already) use myself

With These Books, I’ll Be Springing Into Reading

This week’s theme over at ThatArtsyReaderGirl for Top Ten Tuesday was books on our spring reading list. While I initially played with the idea of finding ‘spring-related’ books that I love, I also realized I have too many books on my NetGalley shelf that need to be (and that I want to) read. So here are ten of those reads (picked randomly, and arranged alphabetically here) for my springing into reading plan…

52 Ways to Walk

52 Ways to Walk by Annabel Streets (Feb 22, 2022)

This book is a short, user-friendly guide to attaining the full range of benefits that walking has to offer–physical, spiritual, and emotional–backed by the latest scientific research to inspire readers to develop a fulfilling walking lifestyle.

Yes, this was a twos-day release!! I have perused the book and now can’t wait to meander, stroll, and wander through its pages (sorry, couldn’t resist)!! And maybe, just maybe, this book will get me on my feet more often than I currently do.

The Book of Last Letters

The Book of Last Letters by Kerry Barrett (Historical WW11 Fiction/General Fiction)

Inspired by an incredible true story, this is an unforgettable novel about love, loss and one impossible choice…

A WWII novel, letters, inspired by a true story, this cover that reminds me of other stunning reads, and a story told in two POVs across two timelines. Of course, this is a must-read for me.

The Color of the Sky Is the Shape of the Heart

The Color of the Sky Is the Shape of the Heart by Chesil (April 5, 2022) (Teen and YA/Multicultural Fiction)

Inspired by her own childhood, author Chesil creates a portrait of a girl who has been fighting alone against barriers of prejudice, nationality, and injustice all her life—and one searching for a place to belong.

My son enjoyed Pachinko and I loved How Do You Live? Given these facts, I am pretty sure I will love this read, which is an award winning Japanese novel, in translation for the first time. Plus, that title! And that clever cover!

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea by Axie Oh (Teen and YA/Fantasy, Multicultural Fiction)

Axie Oh’s The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is an enthralling feminist retelling of the classic Korean folktale “The Tale of Shim Cheong,” perfect for fans of Wintersong, Uprooted, and Miyazaki’s Spirited Away.

Another twos-day release that I am looking forward to reading. I love the concept of this book. Again, the beautiful cover and the title caught my attention here, in addition to the lure of the story itself.

Must Love Books

Must Love Books by Shauna Robinson (January 18, 2022)

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill meets Younger in a heartfelt debut following a young woman who discovers she’ll have to ditch the “dream job” and write her own story to find her happy ending.

While I am not sure if I just noticed this many books with characters who are editors and/or authors, and dealing with publishing houses, this will be my third such read (once I finish my current read – see below) 🙂 But I can’t seem to resist, and of course, I do completely fit the requirements of the title of this book!

Northwind

Northwind by Gary Paulsen (January 11, 2022)

This stunning New York Times Bestseller from the survival story master, set along a rugged coastline centuries ago, does for the ocean what Hatchet does for the woods, as it relates the story of a young person’s battle to stay alive against the odds, where the high seas meet a coastal wilderness.

Both my kids (teens now) loved reading Paulsen, and still do. While I haven’t yet read his books, I do want to. So am starting with this one, or that is the plan at least! And then on to Hatchet and Brian’s Winter, as well as the others.

Pyre

Pyre by Perumal Murugan (Feb 15, 2022; previously published in India)

From the author of One Part Woman and The Story of a Goat, both longlisted for the National Book Award for Translation, comes a poignant and startling novel about love, caste, and intolerance

I realized I had no idea of this author, who writes in Tamil, my mother tongue. However, I am glad I discovered him now and hope to read more of his books too. Sadly, my reading level of Tamil is elementary, literally, so I will have to settle for the translated versions. (Improving my Tamil reading/writing is a work-in-progress)

Sparrow

Sparrow by Brian Kindall (Feb 1, 2022). (Children’s Fiction | Middle Grade | Outdoors & Nature)

Sparrow is a high-flying middle-grade novel. If you or your child like relatable characters, timeless settings, and high-stakes adventure, then you’ll love Brian Kindall’s feathered flurries.

I am not sure what I fell in love with first here – that simply beautiful cover, or the synopsis of this story? Whichever one it is, I know I am looking forward to reading about winter through its pages this spring!!

These Are Not the Words

These Are Not the Words by Amanda West Lewis (April 5, 2022). (Children’s Fiction/Middle Grade)

New York City in the 1960s is the humming backdrop for this poignant, gritty story about a girl who sees her parents as flawed human beings for the first time, and finds the courage to make a fresh start.

This book has so much that calls out to me, asking me to simply read it.

Under Lock & Skeleton Key: A Secret Staircase Mystery

Under Lock & Skeleton Key: A Secret Staircase Mystery by Gigi Pandian

Known for her wonderfully addictive characters, multiple award-winning author Gigi Pandian introduces her newest heroine in this heartfelt series debut. Under Lock & Skeleton Key layers stunning architecture with mouthwatering food in an ode to classic locked-room mysteries that will leave readers enchanted.

I know I have read and enjoyed another of her books before but somehow missed reviewing it here. This one sounds like so much fun!!

The End of This List

I had By Any Other Name by Lauren Kate on the list but I just finished reading it so you can look for my review soon; and another one that I had to let go is my current read – Meet Me in the Margins.

All of the books above are thanks to #NetGalley and the publishers. I am hoping to finish reading them over the next few weeks (days, if possible), and review them as well soon after.

If you are looking for fall reads, here is a list with some books for you!

Wondrous Words of Spring (Of Summer, Fall, and Winter Too)

While I simply picked books on my TBR for my spring-y reading list, I actually went on a word hunt for vernal vocabulary, that is spring-related words! I ended up finding words I loved for other seasons as well, so here they are, wonderful, unique and even archaic seasonal words that I feel are cool enough to be used today!!

  • aestival (adjective): belonging to or appearing in summer
  • aestivate or estivate (verb): to summer in a place
  • apricity or apricitie (noun): the warmth of the sun in winter
  • floriation (noun): a floral ornamentation; a flowery decoration or addition
  • perhiomate (verb): to winter at a place
  • reverdi (noun): an old French song signalizing the return of spring
  • routering-bout (noun): the annual spring period which inspires a thorough cleaning of the house
  • scowderment (noun): confusion, bustle, turmoil; like the commotion during the routering-bout!!
  • scrout out (verb): growing as young plants
  • vernalagnia and vernorexia (noun): romantic mood inspired by spring; or simply put, love sickness!

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where you can share new words that you’ve encountered, or spotlight words you love.  Feel free to get creative! It was first created by Kathy over at Bermuda Onion and is now hosted at Elza Reads.

h/t: Merriam-Webster, Mental Floss, The Internet Archive, and more

Pin Me

image of a nectarine blossom and pin title is for post Springing Into Reading With Beautiful Books and Wondrous Words

And Now, the End of This Post

Dear reader, have you read any of the books? Or other similar reads? What books are in your springing into reading plan?

10 thoughts on “Springing Into Reading With Beautiful Books and Wondrous Words

  1. Wow! These are some amazing books to read and worth our time. Every book has its own unique content that we can learn from. Thanks for sharing this with us.

  2. Hi Vidya! Thanks for mentioning your Instagram, I just hopped over and gave you a follow.

    I love your list of books for your TTT post. I can see you have carefully picked all of them. Although I haven’t read any of them, I actually think I will also read them ALL. Is this a case of great minds think alike?

    Thanks for all your Wondrous Words! Summer is getting to an end here with us in SA, but the words will definitely help to let it linger a few weeks more while we prepare to perhiomate. That’s a great word!

    I hope you are enjoying a wonderful weekend!

  3. As a kid I enjoy reading Gary Paulsen. I haven’t read Northwind but, his other that I read are great. Gary Paulsen wrote a book with his son called Roundtrip. Not really a survival book. It a cute story about a father and son going on a road trip to recuse a Boarder Collie.

  4. I had started a massive cleaning project for routering-bout but ran out of energy. I now believe I fell victim to the vile scowderment. I decided to take a break and stopped to read and then just kept reading as my book was far more enjoyable than scrubbing. I seem to have no interest in resuming my efforts – funny how that often happens…

  5. You always bring my attention to books I’ve never heard of or considered. I’ve been on a fiction kick lately but have been craving non and am very intrigued by 52 Ways to Walk!

  6. My favorite season would be Spring for few reasons:) I just wrote a blog post about it. Thank you for all these wonderful book recommendations, will try to get my hand on a couple

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.